Thursday, April 16, 2009

stupid wankers!

So, I was hauled down to HQ today to discuss a med error that happened last month. Long story short, there were three staff on shift, & a client didn't receive their dinner meds b/c of our non-communications. Also, that was the day that I already wanted to leave, not one hour onto shift. SO! The result? I was written up & had to sign a document today that said I had acted unprofessionally by having made a mistake. Really? I say fuck that. & this is what I emailed to my supervisors this afternoon:

While I can appreciate that a write-up is necessary for any medication error, I have to say that I take exception to the language of the document. Keeping a record of errors is completely understandable. However, when it comes to making staff feel the way I felt this afternoon, I point to the language.
"Unprofessional conduct" is a term that I would have thought saved for offences like stealing from clients, inappropriate relationships, etc; not for an accident. How can an accident be deemed unprofessional? The letter gives me the impression that this is a company that allows little room for growth for its employees.
The definition of accident: an undesirable or unfortunate happening that occurs unintentionally.
I would argue that unprofessional acts are, by and large, intentional, if not acts of ignorance. I simply do not understand that an accident, borne of miscommunication, is unprofessional. I am horribly offended by that, and I hope that the language of future documents may be re-examined.

No comments:

Post a Comment