YIKES!
Some creepy-ass dude followed me across the street from the duplexes (where the ladies live) to our office across the street. It's dark & cold & scary outside... & then this dude comes out of the friggin shadows, making zombie sounds!! (I think he was totally on something.) I practically ran across the street & locked the door right away. I was actually expecting him to be outside, waiting for me to come back out. It was not cool!
But hey. I guess that's what happens when you work in a neighborhood called Felony Flats, right?
First thing for tomorrow?
1) putting my baseball bat in the car
2) buying a can of mace for my work keys &
3) finding a fucking huge maglite to either bash their brains in with, or else see my assailant's face
Tuesday, April 28, 2009
Friday, April 24, 2009
what is going on in my brain
So, maybe it was the fever making my brain think crazy-ass shit. Maybe I'm just that crazy anyway... but regardless, I had a *weird* dream last night.
(Oh yea: this is one of those dreams that is based on real, planned events.)
I was getting ready for Brant's wedding. I'm a groomsgirl, but I'm supposed to be wearing one of the bridesmaids dresses, but when I'm putting on this dress, I realize that just above my heart, there is a wire sticking out of my chest. It's been pulled out maybe 3-4 inches, but I don't notice any pain. Thinking how bad this will look in the pictures & ceremony, I pull it out. It just keeps coming & coming out of my chest until it's over a foot long. I folded it up as best as I could, & tucked it away somewhere. Somehow, I forget about this freaky-weird wire & go about prewedding craziness, running around here & there, finishing up whatever the bride & groom need. Pictures are being taken, the ceremony is about to start. That's when I notice that my hair isn't done, so I run into this bathroom to try to fix it as best as I could when I see there's another wire coming out of the same hole in my chest. Now, I don't know exactly how long I'm in the bathroom trying to figure out what to do about this wire, but I finally come out & the wedding is over. I missed the whole thing. Then I wake up.
I guess my question is this: what the hell? F-list, please help me figure out what this could mean!
Some facts that might be helpful--
1) Brant & I have been friends for 8 years
2) there has been romantic tention on & off again for at least 6 of those years
3) his fiance hates & is threatened by me
4) when he told me that he was getting married, I almost forgot to say congratulations, I was so surprised
5) I would do anything for Brant
There it is, all layed out for yas. Any thoughts? HELP!
EDIT: on the 29th, I got a facebook friend request from Brandy (the fiance)... in the little comment section, she goes, "let's be friends." uuhhh...? okay? I clicked accept, duh, but I feel a little weird about it.
(Oh yea: this is one of those dreams that is based on real, planned events.)
I was getting ready for Brant's wedding. I'm a groomsgirl, but I'm supposed to be wearing one of the bridesmaids dresses, but when I'm putting on this dress, I realize that just above my heart, there is a wire sticking out of my chest. It's been pulled out maybe 3-4 inches, but I don't notice any pain. Thinking how bad this will look in the pictures & ceremony, I pull it out. It just keeps coming & coming out of my chest until it's over a foot long. I folded it up as best as I could, & tucked it away somewhere. Somehow, I forget about this freaky-weird wire & go about prewedding craziness, running around here & there, finishing up whatever the bride & groom need. Pictures are being taken, the ceremony is about to start. That's when I notice that my hair isn't done, so I run into this bathroom to try to fix it as best as I could when I see there's another wire coming out of the same hole in my chest. Now, I don't know exactly how long I'm in the bathroom trying to figure out what to do about this wire, but I finally come out & the wedding is over. I missed the whole thing. Then I wake up.
I guess my question is this: what the hell? F-list, please help me figure out what this could mean!
Some facts that might be helpful--
1) Brant & I have been friends for 8 years
2) there has been romantic tention on & off again for at least 6 of those years
3) his fiance hates & is threatened by me
4) when he told me that he was getting married, I almost forgot to say congratulations, I was so surprised
5) I would do anything for Brant
There it is, all layed out for yas. Any thoughts? HELP!
EDIT: on the 29th, I got a facebook friend request from Brandy (the fiance)... in the little comment section, she goes, "let's be friends." uuhhh...? okay? I clicked accept, duh, but I feel a little weird about it.
Friday, April 17, 2009
the response
I completely understand where you are coming from; Isaac and I have both been there. Write-ups are written by the HR director (Andrea) based on a template and the details of a situation are inserted where appropriate.
We think that you are a valuable addition to PCL, I don't want you to think otherwise at all. We will bring up your concerns regarding the language with Andrea.
If you have any other comments or concerns please don't hesitate to talk to either one of us.
Thanks!
Yeah, that's nice. Too bad I still feel like shit, regardless if you've been there or not, Kathleen! Oh, & I talked to my father today, who is home from work... seems he had a blowout at the hospital yesterday, too. I guess shit was just in the air. Fuuuuuuck that.
Thursday, April 16, 2009
stupid wankers!
So, I was hauled down to HQ today to discuss a med error that happened last month. Long story short, there were three staff on shift, & a client didn't receive their dinner meds b/c of our non-communications. Also, that was the day that I already wanted to leave, not one hour onto shift. SO! The result? I was written up & had to sign a document today that said I had acted unprofessionally by having made a mistake. Really? I say fuck that. & this is what I emailed to my supervisors this afternoon:
While I can appreciate that a write-up is necessary for any medication error, I have to say that I take exception to the language of the document. Keeping a record of errors is completely understandable. However, when it comes to making staff feel the way I felt this afternoon, I point to the language.
"Unprofessional conduct" is a term that I would have thought saved for offences like stealing from clients, inappropriate relationships, etc; not for an accident. How can an accident be deemed unprofessional? The letter gives me the impression that this is a company that allows little room for growth for its employees.
The definition of accident: an undesirable or unfortunate happening that occurs unintentionally.
I would argue that unprofessional acts are, by and large, intentional, if not acts of ignorance. I simply do not understand that an accident, borne of miscommunication, is unprofessional. I am horribly offended by that, and I hope that the language of future documents may be re-examined.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
